On Writing

I think that sometimes I think I am a good writer, when in actual fact I must be amateur at best. The false confidence I get from thinking that way means I do not practice my writing, or carry on with any of my writing projects, because I put it in my head that I will eventually publish a book one day.

But, dear readers, the fact of the matter is very clear here: I will never publish anything if I never write anything, and if I never write anything, I won’t be a ‘writer’, I will just be a ‘dreamer’. Just like an artist is no artist if the artist isn’t creating any art.

I love writing. I write to quench the thirst my soul has to explore things one can’t touch. Do you, as a writer, write daily? Do you challenge yourself to write things, even on the days when writing feels like piling broken bricks over each other with nothing to hold them together, and watching helplessly as they topple all over the place?

Here are some of my favourite quotes about writing:

“Start writing, no matter what. The water doesn’t flow until the faucet is turned on” – Louis L’Amour

“Words can be like X-Rays if you use them properly — they’ll go through anything. You read and you’re pierced.” – Aldous Huxley, Brave New World.

“Imagination is like a muscle. I found out that the more I wrote, the bigger it got.” – Phillip Jose Farmer.

“You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” – Jack London.

Feel free to share your favourite quotes about writing. Happy writing to you all!

il_430xN.88438053

2 thoughts on “On Writing

Leave a Reply

