Grumps

Time to get my fluffy socks and woolly jumpers out, because the sun’s face is buried under layers of thick cloud and the cold is beginning to seep through the damp wooden beams, slowly making its way under my skin. It’s going to be a cold autumn.

cold autumn

Anyone else feel that way yet?

Also, the shops are beginning to stock Christmas-ware shamelessly! Time for my grumpy Grinch-itis to slowly poke it’s black curly head out with a colossal scowl.

Also, I love the word ‘grumpy’! It’s so cosy and warm, somehow. Like a frowny day in pyjamas, warm blankets and an excuse to stay in bed while the storms rage outside. Grumpy is less serious than ‘irritated’ or ‘sullen’ or ‘surly’ or ‘testy’. It’s more on par with a gruff old granddad with a heart of gold. Who doesn’t like a gruff old granddad with a heart of gold!

grumpy cat

Grumpy cat is the perfect image for how I feel about too-early Christmas goodies in the shops.

4 thoughts on “Grumps

  1. When I walk in to the “Christmas Store” any time during the year I expect Christmas stuff, it’s what they do. But I don’t expect it in September at the dollar store. Always startles me, like I entered a time warp and missed part of the year….. but no, it was really still September.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

