A Block of Words

writers block

 

Hello Internet. It’s that time of year again. Cold windy days, barren trees, grey afternoons and a night that descends so quickly. I embrace the lights, though. They make me happy, like shiny beacons of glitter and hope in the ever-growing blackness that is winter.

It is also the time of year that writers love. NaNoWrimo is in full swing, you can hear the tapping of keyboards and the scribbling of pens echoing across the plains of this virtual world and it is so heartening but again, two years in a row now, I am suffering from writer’s block.

I am stressed out with all the work I have to do. It involves a hearty amount of reading, analysing, creative writing, the application of literary devices and deep concentration, all of which I love immensely but when tripled with strict deadlines and weeks of mountainous literary terrain to navigate, I find myself quite lost. Confused. At a complete standstill.

Here is a small inconsequential fact:

IT DOES NOT DO TO HAVE WRITER’S BLOCK WHEN I NEED TO WRITE A COMPELLING SCREENPLAY BY THE END OF NOVEMBER AND I HAVE NOTHING, EXCEPT A DISGUSTINGLY POORLY WRITTEN SHORT STORY ABOUT A MURDER WITH NO INCENTIVE TO GO BY. AARRGH.

I have spots on my face and I never get spots. I ate all of Damian’s M&Ms today and I know he will be cross because:

  1. I am not supposed to be eating anything processed or artificially sweet because of my digestive system.
  2. He doesn’t like sharing his M&Ms.

So I am making him a small dish of apple crumble with oats and honey because:

  1. He loves apple crumble and if he sees the apple crumble he will totally forget about his precious M&Ms.
  2. It is a great way to use up all my cupboard ingredients before we move out in two weeks (or even less!).
  3. Once again, I am procrastinating!

So. I have writer’s block. How devastating. Will I ever write a book? Who knows. The literary future of one Lenora Sparrow is looking pretty bleak.

2 thoughts on “A Block of Words

  1. Don’t worry about it, Lenora. Perhaps it’s not block, but more that the pressure to write doesn’t work for you. I’ll admit that the nano pressure isn’t doing much for me either. I’m productive, but it’s taken some of the fun out of writing this month. My advice to both of us is smile, relax, and let go…the writing will come at its own time. Now, if only I could follow it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

