Tom Hardy as Heathcliff

tumblr_le4l70vBTM1qd9vcjo1_1280.jpg

Is bloody brilliant.

It’s not just because he is a handsome man. He is terribly handsome, yes, but I never saw Heathcliff as handsome. I saw him as a dangerous man full of bitter anger and passion and revenge but he also had a tremendous amount of presence. He was exploding with emotion, he loved to hate.

I felt that this came to life in many of the scenes in the 2009 film with Tom Hardy. His voice is wonderful and resounding and allows him to maintain authority as well as instil fear. His tendency to enunciate his ts as ds is terribly compelling. This is also why he did excellently as Bane in The Dark Knight Rises.

His emotions translated strongly throughout the film, and I found myself crying with him when Cathy died, as opposed to cringing when I watched the Ralph Fiennes version. Tom Hardy also had great chemistry with Charlotte Riley who played Catherine Earnshaw in this version.

00cb0e9c8474589b4ff44611a857537c

It’s interesting, though, to see these emotions played out on screen because in the book I had a tendency to sympathise with Nelly, the narrator of Heathcliff’s story, as opposed to Heathcliff himself, the living and breathing soul of his own story. Seeing him actually experiencing the cruelty he experienced, and being cast aside by the one person who he thought really saw him for the vulnerable human he was, made all his later actions make a lot more sense. Yes, I don’t empathise with how he treated Isabella Linton and his son and the poor animals, but I understand it more because I could see the character actually go through his harrowing experiences as a child, and see how they affected him directly, rather than be told by a rather biased servant that he had gone through them. A child (for he was a child) is impressionable and if all he has known is hatred and cruelty, and being second place (to Edgar Linton of all people) he is bound to grow up compassion-less. I think that made all the difference to me, and will definitely influence my analogy of the subject and the character.

I’m studying Wuthering Heights in great detail at the moment at university so have watched all the possible versions of Wuthering Heights and I must say, to me, the 2009 mini series did Heathcliff the most justice.

images.jpg

10 thoughts on “Tom Hardy as Heathcliff

  1. It’s my favorite adaptation too because of Tom’s passion and all other emotions that came trough… And the chemistry between Tom and Charlotte; maybe it explains why they’re married nowadays ;-))))))

    Like

    • Oh my gosh, they’re married!?!? I had no idea! I was thinking, ‘Gosh, I might have to just write a fan fiction to make Heathcliff a nicer guy and make Cathy not be so foolish, to satisfy my need for those two to end up together and save a whole lot of heartache’ but knowing they are married really makes me so happy and slightly relieved!

      Like

Leave a Reply

