Modern Safety

In this modern world, it is hard to be safe. Completely safe, I mean.

Look at it this way; the people you meet are not all going to be stable and sane. In fact, you yourself might not be stable and sane. That is a fact. So, let us say you meet a human who is completely unrelated to you, and form a relationship. It could be friendship, it could be romance, it could even be a bizarre attachment. Relationships come in all shapes and sizes, and the way humans connect is strange and surreal and fascinating, so it’s hard to put a label on anything.

Anyway. Say you met the person, and for reasons unknown the relationship turned sour. I don’t know, maybe the other party decided you were too bossy and called the friendship quits. Maybe you realised the other party was a manipulative psychopath so you decided to get out of the situation sharpish. Maybe the other party thought you smelled bad. Maybe you thought they smelled bad. There is such a variety of reasons, you get the picture.

So you decided to move on in life. Sever ties. Goodbye, and good luck. Or leave me the heck alone and don’t contact me. Or see you around (but not really).

Well, if that person (or, indeed, you) decided that actually they didn’t want to sever ties, and wanted to keep in contact, would it be so hard? We have Facebook and Twitter and Instagram and we check into places almost unconsciously because there is always that option.

Instagram: Hey, social media person, would you like to tell everybody where you are eating this delicious cinnamon roll? Here are some options based on the location your phone is giving me!

Social Media person: Urrrrmmm. Noooo. Wait what, I didn’t click anything!

Instagram: Congratulations, now everybody knows you were eating at Cinnabon in the Bull Ring, Birmingham City Centre at 2:30PM. HEAR THAT EVERYBODY? SHE’S RIGHT HERE. COME GET HER.

See what I mean? Even if your location services are switched on in your phone settings you could be unconsciously sending out signals to the interwebs about where you are.

It’s not even just that. People are so innocently putting in where they work and how many languages they speak and where their pet dog likes to go walkies, and they don’t realise that ANYBODY can find them. ANYBODY.

Remember that smelly girl who was clingy and weird? Well, hullo, she is now at the reception desk at work asking for you by the name only your mother uses when she is pretty mad.

Or that manipulative psychopath you desperately want out of human existence? Well, he knows your name by heart and has created a google account in your name (I mean, what the heck is your problem, man) and is now emailing you relentlessly.

Well, folks. We are not safe. I guess we never were, and stalkers have a way of finding out where you live out of pure will and drive. We all know lots of things are possible out of pure will and drive.

It’s all this data, though, that we have everywhere. All these different databases with different aspects of our lives stored on their systems. If they all pooled their information about us collectively, they would have a complete picture of our lives down to a (reasonably accurate) prediction of our deepest fears and desires. Banks, medical records, dental records, school records, job records etc.

The technology is there, you see?

I don’t have Facebook and I really, honestly, don’t put any personal details about myself on the internet, but I feel so vulnerable all the time.

Do any of you feel this way? Do you feel safe using Apple, Google Play etc? I mean, for example, the other day my phone suggested that I could go ‘home’ instead of Shropshire, despite the fact that I entered Shropshire into Google Maps. What was that about? How the heck did it even know where ‘home’ was? I sure as heck never told it. Also what is with the cheek of suggesting I go home?

Um, no, smartphone, I will decide where I want to go. I am still capable of doing that. See? They’re savvy.

7 thoughts on “Modern Safety

    • Thank you so much. Yes, I do believe so! I think it is a combination of several factors; 1. our society seems to be more disjointed and the idea of ‘family’ is less important. Which is bad because a lot of people lack the necessary support from their families that would usually help keep them sane.
      2. Life struggles are harder with all the fake ideals social media seems to be giving out, resulting in a lot of loneliness and depression behind the happy exterior one portrays, meaning nobody knows others need help. Etcetera! Well, I just hope the best for everybody, that’s what. Thanks for your comment, it was slightly humorous (the going postal bit).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. And here I thought I was the only one getting freaked out on a regular basis about how vulnerable modern tech makes us! I’m not a Facebook either and am more than a little paranoid about sharing locations and names and pics online. It’s a scary scary world that we live in…

    Liked by 1 person

    • You aren’t the only one! But many of ‘us’ are turning into ‘them’ 😮 (By ‘them’ of course, I mean those who feel comfy sharing all their details online!) I really think it’s safer to just hold on to the most precious thing we own today; our privacy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s getting harder and harder with all the apps out there that access or broadcast your info without you realizing it 😁

        Like

  2. It seems your posts are mirroring my life experiences these days! 😮 As things stand right now, I have changed my phone number, disabled my Insta, deactivated Twitter and made my blogs private because I want a certain person to stop harassing me. Who would’ve thought someone I was so fond of would turn so postal??

    Like

Leave a Reply

